Hello - Project Assistance

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

djugroop

Hello - Project Assistance

Post by djugroop »

Hi there.

The facts and how you may help me are below.

1) I am doing a Masters in Film & Television.
2) For one of the assignments we had to evaluate a film based on an academic argument (I selected Forrest Gump).
3) Upon doing some research for the film it brought me to an article on this site by Terri Murray - https://philosophynow.org/issues/83/Forrest_Gump
4) I had never heard the term Existentialism before and after buying a PDF from this site and the book Existentialism For Dummies I was hooked as it resonated quite clearly with me.
5) In the end I did not do the assignment on the philosophy, it turned into more of a political debate.
6) BUT: Massively intrigued I have continued to read on.
7) I have a love of bicycle travel and I have decided to make a film about my next tandem bicycle journey across Canada with the focus on using Existentialist principles to guide the discussions and debate through the trip.
8) The trip is going to be off road and we will be living wild with the bears and the cougars and the elk etc.

What I want to know is this.....
1) Does the project have legs? Will this be an interesting project?
2) Can the principles be applied to a journey like this?
3) I have quite a few ideas but what principles of existentialism do you think relate to a journey like this?

So Far:
1) I have created the website to promote the film
2) Made an initial plan for filming

I appreciate any input you may have.

Cheers
Dylan
Impenitent

Re: Hello - Project Assistance

Post by Impenitent »

First I'd suggest Thus Spoke Zarathustra by Nietzsche - it's a great introduction - (anything by Nietzsche would be good but that would take years - plus he is full of references to previous philosophers - each of which should be understood in their own right)