Causality and Determinism

For all things philosophical.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

fmillo

Causality and Determinism

Post by fmillo »

Hi,

This is my first topic for the forum. I have recently joined.

My background is physics, and one of my passions is philosophy.

I want to open a discussion on causality (C) and determinism (D). I

After long thinking about the relations between the two C and D; at first, they look the same from common sense definition, but they are not.

Determinism defines a system where the output is known from the initial conditions we insert, 100%. Does input precede output? We cannot say that
until we have certainty of the system.

Causality tells us that the cause precedes effect but does not say anything about the system's output. Is cause the input and effect the output of the system ?!
Can D be a function of C; D(C)?
or
Can C be a function of D; C(D)?

In some way, D defines C, but also C is implicit in D. Or C defines D, but also D is implicit in C?!

Am I misinterpreting the definitions or is there something to dig into here to deeply understand the nature of causality and determinism?

Florian

Re: Causality and Determinism

Post by Age »

fmillo wrote: Tue Jun 07, 2022 8:46 am Hi,

After long thinking about the relations between the two C and D; at first, they look the same from common sense definition, but they are not.

Determinism defines a system where the output is known from the initial conditions we insert, 100%. Does input precede output? We cannot say that

Causality tells us that the cause precedes effect but does not say anything about the system's output. Is cause the input and effect the output of the system ?!
or

In some way, D defines C, but also C is implicit in D. Or C defines D, but also D is implicit in C?!

Am I misinterpreting the definitions or is there something to dig into here to deeply understand the nature of causality and determinism?

Florian