A Philosophy Consumer

For all things philosophical.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Gary Childress

A Philosophy Consumer

Post by Gary Childress » Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:47 am

I'm currently revisiting Descartes in the hopes of refreshing my philosophical knowledge. It's been years since I studied him. So I've blown the dust off the Discourse on Method and Meditations and started reading them again. Also reading some essays in The Cambridge Companion to Descartes as I go along.

I sort of ask myself why I'm doing this, exerting all this effort into something that is probably not going to be of much useful utility for me. I'm not a college professor or a professional philosopher and will probably never use this knowledge, but I guess the answer is, "because I want to." Philosophy has become little more than a kind of hobby for me. Some people collect stamps. Some people build models. I'm reading philosophy. Some people idolize athletes. Some idolize musicians. I idolize great thinkers and philosophers. I guess someone has to buy philosophy books to keep all the great thinkers, translators and publishers employed.

Does anyone else pursue philosophy in this way, just as a hobby. How many "professional" philosophers are here on this forum? Or, why do you read philosophy? Is there some utility or gain in it?

gaffo

Re: A Philosophy Consumer

Post by gaffo » Mon Jul 08, 2019 12:09 am

Gary Childress wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 10:47 am
I'm currently revisiting Descartes in the hopes of refreshing my philosophical knowledge. It's been years since I studied him. So I've blown the dust off the Discourse on Method and Meditations and started reading them again. Also reading some essays in The Cambridge Companion to Descartes as I go along.