Kant’s Philosophy

For all things philosophical.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Ephrium

Kant’s Philosophy

Post by Ephrium »

I am a philosophy undergraduate and had Kant’s Critique and especially his concept of time and space been debunked? I read through for instance https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/kant ... -idealism/

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/kant-spacetime/

They seem to only mention what Kant’s viewpoint is, Kant’s conception is this or that. It does not seem to state whether it has been debunked or wrong or what. I wonder how should I take the modern viewpoint of his theory
Impenitent

Re: Kant’s Philosophy

Post by Impenitent »

regardless of what the communists claim, the irremovable goggles have not been removed; nor has the egocentric predicament been cured...

-Imp
Ephrium

Post by Ephrium »

Who was renowned for the egocentric principle? This if was solved there would be no need for there to be criminal trials. A judge can tell whether you are guilty by looking at your face
fooloso4

Post by fooloso4 »

Ephrium:
It does not seem to state whether it has been debunked or wrong or what.
That is because there is no general agreement among philosophers or physicists.
I wonder how should I take the modern viewpoint of his theory.
Good question. Take them (there are various contemporary viewpoints) with a grain of salt. Read Kant, read what others have to say, think about it, reach some tentative conclusions, and be prepared to revise them. For every opinion you are given someone else will give you a different opinion. Is your main interest in learning what others think or in developing your own thoughts?
Impenitent

Post by Impenitent »

Ephrium wrote: Sat Mar 24, 2018 6:25 pm Who was renowned for the egocentric principle? This if was solved there would be no need for there to be criminal trials. A judge can tell whether you are guilty by looking at your face