Hello, - again.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

thedoc

Hello, - again.

Post by thedoc »

I'm retired, sometimes very tired, especially after the grandkids have been here awhile. I'm an ex-Jr Hi shop teacher, ex-Hobby shop owner, ex-draftsman, ex-machine opperator, and now a full time Grandfather. I started reading philosophy in H.S. a long time ago, and watching Shakespeare. In college I took Philosophy 101 and at one point I was explainint the difference between Subjectivism and Objectivism to a student who said that she was going to major in Philosophy. I thought it was ironic that a 'Shoppie' was explaining philosophy to her. Just finished watching Polar Express with 2 of my grandkids, the grandson would ask to watch it every day he was with me for about 3+ years, and now the grandaughter is asking to watch it. I guess I'll see it a few hundred more times. Of special note, I have another grandson whose name is followed by XV.
The Voice of Time

Re: Hello, - again.

Post by The Voice of Time »

Ludwig the XV?

Welcome then :) Doc. Sounds a bit military to call you doc ^^

So you're a grandpa, well though you've obviously read philosophy a long time ago I once heard that people of old age has a great inclination for philosophy. Would be interested to see you in the field of battling arguments ;)
John

Post by John »

Welcome to the forum (do we call you "thedoc" or just "doc"?).

Better expand the kids section of your DVD collection or you'll be sick of Polar Express soon :lol: Although I do realise that kids can become fixated on particular movies even when they have a lot of choices as my youngest sister used to watch Ralph Bakshi's animated version of The Lord of Rings pretty much every day for, well, quite some time.
John

Post by John »