Metaphysics — local knowledge

So what's really going on?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Pattern-chaser

Metaphysics — local knowledge

Post by Pattern-chaser »

This is a sort of "What is metaphysics" topic, but not aimed at any kind of 'absolute' definition (which may not even be possible; I'm not sure). As a newbie here whose favourite part of philosophy is metaphysics, I want to find out how things are understood here, in the metaphysics community within this forum. What is the prevalent view here?

I'll start: Metaphysics, in everyday language, is vague, and maybe means something akin to "magical" or "mystical". The word is rarely used in everyday parlance anyway.

In philosophy forums, the practical and pragmatic view of metaphysics is that it describes those aspects of philosophy that are 'unscientific', in that they exist outside the scope or purview of science. [N.B. This offers no insult to metaphysics or to science; it's just a factual distinction.] I tend toward the conclusion that this pragmatic definition is probably the most useful one we have? [Even though moral/ethical philosophy lies outside of science too, but may not be part of metaphysics.]

I have always found metaphysical topics to hold the most interest. Others, of course, disagree. But I hope those who do disagree don't troll the threads here to prevent their discussion, as sometimes happens on other forums. 🤔
Iwannaplato

Re: Metaphysics — local knowledge

Post by Iwannaplato »

Often I see metaphysics as meaning stuff outside of science that might not be true and probably isn't.
I don't think that's correct - not based on my beliefs in this or that entity, but rather because I think metaphysics is more of less wikipedia's summation