Justifying taxation and the state, also a PhD thesis

How should society be organised, if at all?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Daniel McKay

Justifying taxation and the state, also a PhD thesis

Post by Daniel McKay »

I put it to you that libertarians should, under the right circumstances, be in favor of a big state that provides a significant amount of services for its people.

I am a student in my last year of writing my PhD. For my thesis I am developing and defending a new normative theory called "freedom consequentialism". Part of this involves gathering objections from a range of sources and responding to them in my thesis. Here I am posting a short intro to what my theory is and then a chapter discussing how taxation can be justified by reference to protecting a person's freedom over their own choices, even though it is legalized theft. Please feel free to read this chapter and, if you think I am wrong about any of it, tell me why I'm wrong. I will be discussing useful, interesting and difficult objections in my thesis and anything you contribute will be referenced appropriately.

(edit) Links stopped working and I'm not sure why. The ones posted a few posts below should be working though.
Last edited by Daniel McKay on Wed Oct 05, 2016 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bill Wiltrack

Re: Justifying taxation and the state, also a PhD thesis

Post by Bill Wiltrack »

Didn't read your intro or chapter yet.

What halted me was your phrase, legalized theft.

What are you referring to when you use the phrase, legalized theft? And where can I find a source in reference to your claim?

Daniel McKay

Post by Daniel McKay »