Dark Energy, Dark Matter

How does science work? And what's all this about quantum mechanics?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Astro Cat

Dark Energy, Dark Matter

Post by Astro Cat »

I began a thread in The Lounge trying to get to know other members and I wanted that thread to stay on topic. So, I'm moving over some questions that appeared there to be discussed on their own. For background, I'm a researching astrophysics grad student (which is how these questions arose in the first place).
Age wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 4:35 am
Astro Cat wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 12:57 pm
Age wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 12:46 pm What is 'quiescence in galaxies', from your perspective? And,

What is 'dark energy', to you?
Quiescence is when a galaxy is quenched (no longer has a healthy star formation rate).
Which is said to be less than what, exactly?
The threshold for quiescence is somewhat arbitrary, but several authors place it at < 10^-11 stellar masses worth of stars /yr. For comparison, the Milky Way produces about 3 stellar masses of stars per year (and the Milky Way is on its way to quenching).
Age wrote:
Astro Cat wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 12:57 pm Quenching is associated with a lot of different aspects of galaxies such as their morphology (spheroid vs. disky), Sérsic index (drop-off in intensity as a function of distance from the center), AGNs (active galactic nuclei, e.g. their black holes), etc. We observe a buildup of high stellar mass spheroid galaxies with low specific star formation rates at lower redshifts (so, more recent in cosmic time) than at high redshifts, but it's tough to discern what common features of quiescent galaxies might have a causal role in their quenching or what features result from quenching.

Dark energy is any energy density with a negative equation of state that doesn't scale with the scale factor of the universe. It drives the acceleration of cosmic expansion