quantum

How does science work? And what's all this about quantum mechanics?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

raw_thought

quantum

Post by raw_thought »

Are physicists good at philosophy? It seems to me that they confuse ontology ( what is ) with what we know ( epistemology ).
For example, the common sense solution to Heisenberg's https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uncertainty_principle is that just because it is impossible to know the position and the momentum of a particle simultaneously does not mean that they do not have a location and speed. My degree is not in physics, so I am probably missing something. But to me they do not understand the difference between truth and validity. They might have all the facts but their argument is not valid. Here is an argument that is true but invalid. 1. Obama was president. 2. Nixon was president. 3. Therefore my dog's name is Varnog. Here is an argument that is valid but not true. 1. All Martians eat snakes. 2. Bob is a Martian. 3. Therefore, Bob eats snakes.
Hawking was a GREAT physicist. But a really bad philosopher. He was a self-proclaimed logical positivist, a philosophy now known for only one thing it is self-refuting. The core of LP is the proposition that any proposition that is not empirical or analytical is meaningless. Is the core of LP empirical? NO! Is it analytical? NO! Therefore by LP's own core doctrine LP is meaningless!
Scott Mayers

Re: quantum

Post by Scott Mayers »

raw_thought wrote: Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:27 am Are physicists good at philosophy? It seems to me that they confuse ontology ( what is ) with what we know ( epistemology ).