What is an Artist?

What is art? What is beauty?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Pluto

What is an Artist?

Post by Pluto »

An artist is someone who sits outside or on the edge of the system.
An artist is someone who works inside the system using its tools to climb up the ladder.
An artist is someone who says I'm an Artist and means it.

An artist is someone who sees that the meaning of the world including himself as ideas.
Last edited by Pluto on Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
marjoram_blues

Re: What is an Artist?

Post by marjoram_blues »

Pluto wrote:An artist is someone who sits outside or on the edge of the system.
An artist is someone who works inside the system using its tools to climb up the ladder.
What system?
Anyone who says I'm an X and means it, is not necessarily an X. But delusional.

I like the wiki article on this. It considers historical context.
And there is an excerpt from Mark Getlein:

6 activities, services or functions of contemporary artists...

( Ah well, if interested, it's typed out already... go seek...)
Greta

Post by Greta »

#3 is closest to correct. It's not what an artist says but what she does that makes the difference. If she produces work that she and/or others consider to be art, then it's art.

#1 and #2 refer to fringe and commercial artists respectively.
Conde Lucanor

Post by Conde Lucanor »

Greta wrote:
#3 is closest to correct. It's not what an artist says but what she does that makes the difference. If she produces work that she and/or others consider to be art, then it's art.

#1 and #2 refer to fringe and commercial artists respectively.
Pretty much today's approach to the definition of art and artists. That may work, anyway, only in the present tense. Works and creators from the past can be viewed differently from other times, and sometimes we don't even know what they wanted to produce or what their contemporaries thought of it.
Pluto

Post by Pluto »