Socratic Method Only: Why is Circular Logic Considered a Contradiction?

For all things philosophical.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Eodnhoj7

Socratic Method Only: Why is Circular Logic Considered a Contradiction?

Post by Eodnhoj7 »

Opinions, Quotes, Sources, etc.? What do you think and why?
Immanuel Can

Re: Socratic Method Only: Why is Circular Logic Considered a Contradiction?

Post by Immanuel Can »

Eodnhoj7 wrote: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:25 pm Opinions, Quotes, Sources, etc.? What do you think and why?
Circular logic is circular because it circles. :wink:
Eodnhoj7

Post by Eodnhoj7 »

Immanuel Can wrote: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:52 pm
Eodnhoj7 wrote: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:25 pm Opinions, Quotes, Sources, etc.? What do you think and why?
Circular logic is circular because it circles. :wink:
Haha, linear logic is linear because it is a lineates. :)
henry quirk

Post by henry quirk »

'I'm a writer cuz I write; I write cuz I'm a writer.'

Perfectly sensible and coherent (without a hint of contra-anything) even if circular (and devoid of any real explanation).
Arising_uk

Post by Arising_uk »

Eodnhoj7 wrote:Why is Circular Logic Considered a Contradiction?
It's not, as HQ points out its just devoid of explanation.
Last edited by Arising_uk on Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Immanuel Can

Post by Immanuel Can »

Eodnhoj7 wrote: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:58 pm Haha, linear logic is linear because it is a lineates. :)
Is that true? Or is it just a "line"? :lol:
Eodnhoj7

Post by Eodnhoj7 »

That is my point all philosophy is fundamentally the observation of definition. Circular logic observes this nature of definition as it observes "center(s)". It does not contradict linearism as linearism exists if and only if there are axioms. These axioms maintain a form of circular rationality by default.

Is there something I am missing? Opinions as to why the hostility? Is it a western "thing"?
Arising_uk

Post by Arising_uk »