Hello from a wannabe "philosopher combatant"

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Mnemoriam

Hello from a wannabe "philosopher combatant"

Post by Mnemoriam »

Hello,

I am a Special Operations Police Officer from a violent Latin-American metropolis, and I’ve recently decided that I must learn Philosophy.

It is hard enough to live “normal” life without being able to integrate events and ideas into an established philosophical framework, but combat has taught me that failing to do so while living life-and-death situations daily is riskier than any bullet.

I have no philosophical training whatsoever, so I'd like to thank you all in advance for any wisdom you can impart to me, as well as to apologize for not being able to collaborate much around here for quite a while.

Best
EchoesOfTheHorizon

Re: Hello from a wannabe "philosopher combatant"

Post by EchoesOfTheHorizon »

Have you watched The Andy Griffith Show, about American Paramilitary Forces operating in the Deep South of America during the era of civil rights movement here in America, of it's military spinoff, Gomer Pyle, who joins the Marine Corps during the Vietnam War?
Eodnhoj7

Post by Eodnhoj7 »

Mnemoriam wrote: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:42 pm Hello,

I am a Special Operations Police Officer from a violent Latin-American metropolis, and I’ve recently decided that I must learn Philosophy.

It is hard enough to live “normal” life without being able to integrate events and ideas into an established philosophical framework, but combat has taught me that failing to do so while living life-and-death situations daily is riskier than any bullet.

I have no philosophical training whatsoever, so I'd like to thank you all in advance for any wisdom you can impart to me, as well as to apologize for not being able to collaborate much around here for quite a while.

Best
Welcome,