Hello

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Plato's Rock

Hello

Post by Plato's Rock »

Hi,
I've been doing "lay" philosophy for a couple of years, and am now looking to hone my edge further. One of the thoughts I've been entertaining lately is the idea that Plato's Cave Allegory falls apart in a relativistic situation, but I'm not sure if it's relevant anymore.

I also think Nihilism is self-contradictory (semi-irrational) because it is a meaning that annihilates meaning (whatever position held), and thus annihilates it's own meaning over time. Thus it is a useful tool, but not meant to be a permanent mindset.
Impenitent

Re: Hello

Post by Impenitent »

don't say that to a Buddhist ...

-Imp
EchoesOfTheHorizon

Post by EchoesOfTheHorizon »

You can say it to Buddhists, Imp's position only applies to ignorant 19th Century Prussians who know nothing of Buddhism.
Plato's Rock

Post by Plato's Rock »

What that nihilism is a self-contradiction? Is that potentially troubling to Buddhists? I don't see how that'd apply to a whole class of people (maybe a few), so.... *shrug*.

Regarding the ignorance of Prussians, I've been reading lately that a lot of "Western" philosophy overlooks a lot of the world outside Europe/America. Is there any recommendations in this area (non-western philosophy) as to read?
surreptitious57

Post by surreptitious57 »

I think of myself as a nihilist where nihilism is defined as a lack of objective meaning to life but I more accurately
describe myself as an absurdist where subjective meanings are the only ones that actually exist. I am not however
an existentialist because I see nothing fundamentally confusing or despairing about life though it is full of mystery
EchoesOfTheHorizon

Are you kidding? Pick a country and a Era, be easier for me to narrow it down.