Hi I'm new too.

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

David Swift

Hi I'm new too.

Post by David Swift »

Hi, I graduated from Wilfred Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada with a BA (phil major) in 1972. I got interested in mind and researched for about twenty years (I'm kinda slow.) finally publishing (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, UK) The Epicurean Theory of Mind, Meaning and Knowledge in 2008. It examines the differences between the brain centered Hippocratic mind concept and the sense organs centered Epicurean mind concept. Since then I've been preparing a manuscript that examines the psychological implications of the Epicurean concept. Is anyone interested in how minds work? I'd like to hear from you.
bobevenson

Re: Hi I'm new too.

Post by bobevenson »

I'm interested in how minds work regarding hallucinations, visual, auditory and automatic writing.
Immanuel Can

Post by Immanuel Can »

David Swift wrote:Is anyone interested in how minds work? I'd like to hear from you.
Hi, David.

You'll find a fair number of folks around whose inclination for the question stops at saying, "It's the brain, dummy." Some don't even seem to want to admit there is such a thing as a "mind": maybe it seems to them to be too much like a "soul," or it threatens their Materialist faith, or it smacks of Cartesian Dualism, or it ruins Determinism.

In any case, there seem to be a few rather strident Monists about.

But I'd be interested.
ken

Post by ken »