Aidan O'Donoghue

Tell us a little about yourself.

Moderators: AMod, iMod

aiddon

Aidan O'Donoghue

Post by aiddon »

Hello all. I am Aidan O'Donoghue. Living in Cork, Ireland. Having only recently stumbled upon Philosophy Now I feel I have found that missing piece of the jigsaw that had eluded me for so long. A fabulous publication! I am a writer of fiction and non-fiction and a teacher of mathematics and physics. I blog at aidanodonoghue.com. My first encounter with philosophy was as an early twenty-somthing perplexing over the novels of Camus and Dosteovesky. My philosophical interests are wide ranging, from the Ancient Greeks to the Existentialists, and much in between. I am particularly interested in philosophy in literature - Steinbeck, Dosteoevsky, Camus, even the dystopian Cormac McCarthy. I look forward to engaging in some good philosophical jousting on this forum. Kind Regards.
duszek

Re: Aidan O'Donoghue

Post by duszek »

Hello Aidan,

lots of philosophy in "Anna Karenina" too.

Am I at liberty to let my fire of passion burn freely ?
Or should I respect the conventions ?
Many of them can be disgusting and insulting my idea of fairness.
aiddon

Post by aiddon »

Hello Duszek

Yes Anna Karenina has been on my list of must reads for many years. I need a long holiday to read it however. So many books, so little time ...
duszek

Post by duszek »

It is being read on the radio in German, in 92 episodes.

I read the book a very long time ago, during a vacation in the Alps.

Tolstoy is a good writer but of course he expresses his own values by arranging fates of his characters and interpreting everything psychologically.

It seems to be about the conflict between personal freedom (and personal whims) and the common good.

The insights into the structure of the Russian society in those days are revealing indeed, and some elements are still present in our lives if we wish to detect them.