What does it mean for a human to "sound natural?"

What did you say? And what did you mean by it?

Moderators: AMod, iMod

Philosophy Explorer

What does it mean for a human to "sound natural?"

Post by Philosophy Explorer »

I used to work in sales. In my earlier stage, prospects would say I sound like a robot or ask if I'm reading from a script? Eventually I made adjustments which boosted my sales, led to fewer people hanging up on me, etc.

A number of questions arise which I'll now pose. Does sounding natural (whatever that means) go hand-in-hand with language development? Do professionals, on average, have a better grasp on language than the general population of a country and do they sound more natural? Do you think that apps (Talking Girl Friend e.g.) are getting better at communication while sounding more natural?

What do you think?

PhilX
SpheresOfBalance

Re: What does it mean for a human to "sound natural?"

Post by SpheresOfBalance »

Philosophy Explorer wrote:I used to work in sales. In my earlier stage, prospects would say I sound like a robot or ask if I'm reading from a script? Eventually I made adjustments which boosted my sales, led to fewer people hanging up on me, etc.

A number of questions arise which I'll now pose. Does sounding natural (whatever that means) go hand-in-hand with language development? Do professionals, on average, have a better grasp on language than the general population of a country and do they sound more natural? Do you think that apps (Talking Girl Friend e.g.) are getting better at communication while sounding more natural?

What do you think?

PhilX